Table of contents:

Not Gluten-free Alone
Not Gluten-free Alone
Video: Not Gluten-free Alone
Video: Kids Try Challenge: Gluten-Free vs Gluten | Kids Try | HiHo Kids 2023, February
Anonim

Gluten is, firstly, not a product (as one might think), but gluten, which is found in some types of grain. It, in turn, is nothing more than a group of storage proteins harmful to people with celiac disease, a disease that occurs in only 1% of the world's population. Symptoms such as bloating, diarrhea, and in rare cases, vomiting, appear after eating foods that contain gluten. It is found in wheat, rye, bulgur, spelled, semolina and barley, as well as in all products and drinks prepared from them: in bakery and confectionery products, in beer, in vodka, in whiskey … In addition, gluten is added to yoghurts, chocolate, ketchup, mayonnaise and ice cream, using its sticky properties to create the required thickness.

Image
Image

Ksenia Tsaregorodtseva

Why is everyone talking about gluten? It's simple: firstly, it gives another reason to talk about the trendy gluten-free diet, secondly, it's a great marketing ploy (the label “gluten-free” attracts more and more customers), and thirdly, most people stop annoying symptoms in the form of bloating. Most often this happens because the body reacts to chemical fertilizers used in the process of growing certain varieties of grain. In addition, research shows that inorganic grains contain several times more gluten than their organic counterparts.

Very often I read posts on the Internet that you shouldn't eat oatmeal (supposedly it contains gluten), but this is unreliable information. Oats do contain gluten, but they are a store of a completely different type of protein - avenin. It is allowed for celiac patients in many countries, but with an eye on the manufacturer: you need to be sure that oats are grown "without contamination", that is, without contact with other types of cereals (for example, rye and wheat).

These lively conversations about gluten also make you pay attention to foods that do not contain it. First of all, these are fruits, vegetables, meat and fish, herbaceous plants (for example, useful amaranth and quinoa), as well as a number of grain crops (corn, rice, millet, buckwheat).

Do you think you recognize yourself in the above symptoms? I advise you to get tested and find out if you really have celiac disease. Even if the disease is not found, try switching to organic grain: you can buy it, for example, in the shops "Biostoria", "Gorod-Sad

proper nutrition

Popular by topic